December 18, 2020   NSF Staff

Preparing for the start of pre-session meetings in January, House Speaker Chris Sprowls on Friday released committee and subcommittee assignments for House members and named the leaders of subcommittees. Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor, announced committee chairs and other House leaders last month. Among the appointments announced Friday were the leaders of subcommittees that will help craft a state budget. 


They are:

Rep. Josie Tomkow, R-Polk City, as chairwoman of the Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee;


Rep. Bryan Avila, R-Miami Springs, as chairman of the Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee;


Rep. Rene Plasencia, R-Orlando, as chairman of the Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee; 


Rep. Jayer Williamson, R-Pace, as chairman of the Infrastructure & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee; 


Rep. Scott Plakon, R-Longwood, as chairman of the Justice Appropriations Subcommittee; 


Rep. Randy Fine, R-Palm Bay, as chairman of the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee; and 


Rep. Cyndi Stevenson, R-Saint Johns, as chairwoman of the State Administration & Technology Appropriations Subcommittee.



Lawmakers will start holding committee and subcommittee meetings the week of Jan. 11 in advance of the March 2 start of the 2021 legislative session.



Darrin "Scribe" Brooks

State Vice President

State Legislative Trustee,

ABATE of Florida, Inc.